Food and nutrition teaching throughout the UK


In primary schools (5-11 years) food is taught as a compulsory part of the curriculum - mainly through Design and Technology, Science and PSHE.  In secondary schools, food is mainly taught through Design and Technology: food, Science and PSHE. PE also plays an important element. Within Design and Technology pupils learn about healthy eating, ingredients, equipment and cooking. Nutrition and digestion are also taught in Science.

For further information on the curriculum in England, go to:

Northern Ireland

In primary schools (5-11 years), food is taught mainly through health education.
It supports Foundation Stage, Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 in The World Around Us (Science and Technology, Geography) and Personal Development and Mutual Understanding.

During secondary school education, food is taught through three main areas:
> Learning for life at work (Home Economics);
> Science and technology (Science);
> Learning for life and work (Personal Development).

For further information on the curriculum in Northern Ireland, go to:


The curriculum in Scotland has recently been reviewed and published in 2009. From early years to secondary schools (3-16), food is taught progressively through Sciences, Technologies and Health Education. For further information on the curriculum in Scotland, go to:


The curriculum in Wales ensure that children in primary school (8-10) and secondary school (11-14) have experiences learning about food. The three areas of the curriculum where food is mainly featured are:
> Design and Technology: food;
> Science;
> Personal and social education.

For further information on the curriculum in Wales, go to:

Last reviewed April 2009. Next review due December 2013


First Name(*)
Please enter your first name.

Last Name(*)
Please enter your last name.

School / Organisation

Email Address(*)
Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter your message.

Invalid Input

Enter security code:(*)
Enter security code:
Invalid Input